[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 590: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 646: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 1068: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3843)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 1068: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3843)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 1068: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3843)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 113: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5133: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3843)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5133: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3843)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 5133: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3843)
tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK - Tecplot Talk

tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Creating Tecplot binary data files

Moderators: davetaflin, salter, steve, jprenaud, straton, Chris Idso

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Dennis Jespersen
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:51 am
Location: NASA/Ames Research Center
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby Dennis Jespersen » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:38 am

I have a simple test case with a hexahedral mesh (FEBRICK) and
a scalar variable defined at cell centers. I use tecio starting with the sequence
tecini112
teczne112
tecdat112 // x-coordinates
tecdat112 // y coordinates
tecdat112 // z-coordinates
tecdat112 // scalar variable

I have the cell connectivity defined. If I follow the above with
tecnod112
then everything is fine (tecio doesn't complain, I can plot the data
and it looks good), but if I use instead
tecnode112
then I get an error message when I call tecend112. The message is
Err: (TECEND112) File 1 is being closed without writing connectivity data.
Zone 1 was defined with a Classic FE zone type but TECNODE112() was not called for all node chunks.

Is there a known problem with tecnode112?
Is there something I'm doing wrong?
I have a little test code (Fortran) which I can send illustrating what I am doing;
it's 200 lines and it might not be a good idea to post the code here.

I would like to use tecnode112 because the ultimate goal is to run a
multiple-processor code and to gather and write data in chunks rather
than all at once.

JerimiahLee
Tecplot Employee
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:20 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby JerimiahLee » Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:59 pm

Hello Dennis,

Could you just provide me with the line that you are using to call TECNODE112? In our Data Format Guide it provides the following Syntax:

INTEGER*4 FUNCTION TECNODE112(N, NData)
INTEGER*4 N
INTEGER*4 NData (T, M)

Dennis Jespersen
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:51 am
Location: NASA/Ames Research Center
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby Dennis Jespersen » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:50 am

The call to TECNODE112 uses an array ELT2NODE dimensioned (8,JD-1,KD-1,LD-1)
where the box grid has (JD,KD,LD) points in the 3 directions. I have NCELLS set to
(JD-1)*(KD-1)*(LD-1) and the call is

I = TECNODE112 ( NCELLS,ELT2NODE )

For completeness, the call to TECNOD112 is
I = TECNOD112 ( ELT2NODE )

JerimiahLee
Tecplot Employee
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:20 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby JerimiahLee » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:48 am

Dennis,

Could you set the debug flag to 1, rerun the application and send us the output?

JerimiahLee
Tecplot Employee
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:20 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby JerimiahLee » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:41 am

Dennis,

It appears that TECNODE112 needs to use NCELLS*8 instead of just NCELLS for the first parameter. Try that and let us know if anything changes.

Dennis Jespersen
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:51 am
Location: NASA/Ames Research Center
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby Dennis Jespersen » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:57 pm

I changed the call
I = TECNODE112 ( NCELLS,ELT2NODE )
to
I = TECNODE112 ( NCELLS*8,ELT2NODE )
but this doesn't fix the problem. Output is:

Using TECNODE112
Scratch File #1: ./tp1x7PsGB
Dest File #1: testtecio.plt
NumVars=4
TECINI112 RETURNS 0
Writing Zone 1:
Title = Simple brick mesh
Type = FEBRICK
IMax = 210
JMax = 120
KMax = 0
DupList = 0,0,0,0
TECZNE112 RETURNS 0
Writing 210 values to file 1.
X:TECDAT112 RETURNS 0
Writing 210 values to file 1.
Y:TECDAT112 RETURNS 0
Writing 210 values to file 1.
Z:TECDAT112 RETURNS 0
Writing 120 values to file 1.
WD:TECDAT112 RETURNS 0
TECNODE112 RETURNS 0
Err: (TECEND112) File 1 is being closed without writing connectivity data.
Zone 1 was defined with a Classic FE zone type but TECNODE112() was not called for all node chunks.
File 1 closed.
********************************************
1 Errors occurred on this file
********************************************
TECEND112 RETURNS -1

JerimiahLee
Tecplot Employee
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:20 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby JerimiahLee » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:34 pm

Apologies Dennis, I mean multiply the NCELLS value by 8 when you declare it. It seems that the TECNODE112 is looking for the number of nodes and not the number of cells.

Dennis Jespersen
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:51 am
Location: NASA/Ames Research Center
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby Dennis Jespersen » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:58 pm

Sorry, I don't follow what you're saying. I have a 3D rectangular mesh with
dimensions (JD,KD,LD), so there are JD*KD*LD points and (JD-1)*(KD-1)*(LD-1)
cells. I have arrays X,Y,Z dimensioned (JD,KD,LD). a cell-centered array
WD dimensioned (JD-1,KD-1,LD-1), and the connectivity array ELT2NODE dimensioned
(8,JD-1,KD-1,LD-1). I have NCELLS set to (JD-1)*(KD-1)*(LD-1) and NPTS
set to JD*KD*LD. I set up the arrays X,Y,Z,WD, ELT2NODE and have the calls

I = TECINI112( 'Centroid Z coordinate'//C_NULL_CHAR,...
I = TECZNE112 ( 'Simple brick mesh'//C_NULL_CHAR,...
I = TECDAT112 ( NPTS,X,ISDOUBLE )
I = TECDAT112 ( NPTS,Y,ISDOUBLE )
I = TECDAT112 ( NPTS,Z,ISDOUBLE )
I = TECDAT112 ( NCELLS,WD,ISDOUBLE )
I = TECNODE112 ( NCELLS,ELT2NODE )
I = TECEND112 ( )

I'm not sure where a multiplication by 8 is supposed to occur.

JerimiahLee
Tecplot Employee
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:20 am
Location: Bellevue, WA
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby JerimiahLee » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:28 pm

Dennis,

My apologies for this confusion. Because the error is not telling us how much connectivity is being written compared to how much it is expecting to be written, we are able to determine that there is not enough connectivity being written. (If you had more connectivity than it expected it would explicitly tell us.) This tells us that either NCELLS is too small or ELT2NODE is too large. Because ELT2NODE works for TECNOD112, NCELLS must be smaller than what is actually expected. Because ELT2NODE is an 8xM matrix, NCELLS needs to be equal to 8 times M.

Another way to think about it is that you have (JD-1)*(KD-1)*(LD-1) number of cells. Each of these cells has 8 connections. TECEND112 is looking for 8*(JD-1)*(KD-1)*(LD-1) connections, but is only seeing (JD-1)*(KD-1)*(LD-1).

Does this make more sense?

Dennis Jespersen
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 11:51 am
Location: NASA/Ames Research Center
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: tecnod112 OK, tecnode112 not OK

Postby Dennis Jespersen » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:36 pm

Thanks, I finally got it, I do need to have the tecnode112 call as:
I = TECNODE112 ( NCELLS*8,ELT2NODE )


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “TecIO Library”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests